Sunday, 10 December 2017

Uche Secondus Wins PDP Chairmanship As Dokpesi And Adeniran Reject Results

A candidate backed by Rivers state Governor Nyeom Wike has won the People's Democratic Party chairmanship. Uche Secondus has emerged as the National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP) the major opposition party in Nigeria after he defeated three other aspirants with over 2000 votes.

His close contender Prof. Tunde Adeniran polled 230 votes, Raymond Dokpesi scored 66 votes while Taoheed Adedoja nil vote.

Meanwhile, Umar Ibrahim has won as National Secretary of the party with 1549 votes to beat Abubakar Mustapha who scored 371 votes and Nenadi Usman who got 287 votes.

Also, Senator Gamawa Babawo Garba has been announced as the winner for Deputy National Chairman (North ) 1316 votes to beat six other contenders.

Five aspirants have earlier withdrawn from the Chairmanship race which includes; Bode George, Jimi Agbaje, Gbenga Daniel, Rasheed Ladoja and Remi Olusegun.

Two of the four candidates that participated in the chairmanship contest at the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) convention, Professor Tunde Adeniran and Chief Raymond Dokpesi on Saturday have rejected the result of the election.

The two separately declared their rejection on the basis of the circulation of a unity list among the delegates.

They made their submissions just as delegates finished voting even before the votes were collated.

Dokpesi told newsmen at the convention ground that the process of voting has been rigged, following the distribution of a unity list containing names of candidates believed to have won elections into various National leadership positions in the party.

He said complaints were lodged to the chairman of the PDP electoral committee Chairman Gabriel Suswan who confirmed that he had seen the list with some delegates but that he was overwhelmed.

Similarly, Professor Tunde Adeniran has called for the cancellation of the entire exercise, saying Governors Nyesom Wike foisted the unity list on delegates.

“We reject the entire electoral process. The election has been grossly compromised to achieve a predetermined end. The illegal unity list is prepared by governors Wike and Ayodele Fayose to foist on the entire delegates” Mr. Taiwo Akeju, director, media and publicity of the Adeniran Campaign said last night.

Prince Uche Secondus: 2000 Votes

Ramond Dokpesi: 66 Votes

Prof. Tunde Adeniran: 230 Votes

Prof.Taoheed Adedoja Nil vote

Invalid votes were 55

No comments:

Post a Comment